Featured Events

March Exhibit - Julia's World - 3/4/2017

Lunchtime Lecture: Research Update on Julia Roper - 3/17/2017

Spring Clean Like a Colonist! - 4/2/2017

Museum Closed Today - 3/15/2017

More Events »

Farmington Visitor Center

Settled in the early 1640s and incorporated in 1645, Farmington was the first inland plantation established by the pioneering settlers of Connecticut's three river towns- Windsor, Wethersfield and Hartford. They were drawn by the rich alluvial soil of the river's flood plain, where the Tunxis Indians had lived and farmed for centuries. The town prospered, growing westward during the 19th century with vibrant manufacturing in the Unionville section.

On September 13th Farmington is celebrating its 375th Birthday! All around Farmington visit the amazing historic sites, meeting 'people from the past' along the way and getting a slice of a massive birthday cake!

Make sure to stop in at the Stanley-Whitman House! Actors will be portraying people from the 17th, 18th and 19th centuries, as well as open-hearth cooking ongoing throughout the afternoon!

All activies are free of charge!

12-5 pm!